Meet Emily! | Stamford Moms

By: Photograph by Angel

How many kids do you have and what are their ages?
I have two kids, my son Logan is 7 and my daughter Sophie is 2.

What do you love about living in Stamford?
I was born and raised in Stamford and love that Stamford is a fun and diverse city.

What’s your favorite restaurant and/or place to shop in Stamford?
Being a full time working mom I love all the great local coffee shops in town one my favorites is Lorca!

What’s your favorite thing to do when you need some “me time”?
Get a pedicure or go for a walk outside.

Tell us about your career.
My family has owned Designs by Lee for 20 years and I have helped out at the family business ever since. After college I started taking a larger role in the business, over the years my husband and I have taken over running the nursery with my father.

Why is Designs by Lee a great place for families?
Being family owned and operated and having young kids myself, we really love and want to create a great experience for families. We recently added a kids play area, dwarf goats that love visitors and have various family oriented events throughout the year!

What’s the best thing about your job?
The best thing about my job is that I am surrounded by nature! There is nothing more peaceful than taking a stroll through our 14 acres.

How do you juggle work with mommyhood?
Working for yourself or your family can be great because work can be flexible it still can be tough, especially in retail, but I have a great support system of family and friends.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten from another mom?
Not to be hard to be too hard on yourself, no one has it all figured out.

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around Stamford, CT